John Gachora Re-elected as KBA Chairman, Betty Korir Appointed Vice Chair kbaadmin June 22, 2024

John Gachora Re-elected as KBA Chairman, Betty Korir Appointed Vice Chair

Nairobi 22nd June 2024 : NCBA Group Managing Director John Gachora has been re-elected as Chairman of the Kenya Bankers Association (KBA) Governing Council. During the association’s 62nd Annual General Meeting held yesterday, KBA member banks also appointed Credit Bank Chief Executive Officer Betty Korir as Vice Chair of the banking industry’s apex governing body.

Ms. Korir becomes the third female vice chair of the association, reflecting the industry’s commitment to promoting gender inclusivity in leadership within the financial services sector. This role has previously been held by Nasim Devji of Diamond Trust Bank and Rebecca Mbithi, formerly of Family Bank. Ms. Korir steps into her new role after serving as a member of the KBA Governing Council.

Upon his re-election, Mr. Gachora expressed gratitude to member banks for their trust, acknowledging their collaboration over the past year. “I think there is enough work to be done…we have big projects on which we will be giving you updates very soon as we complete them,” he said.

The newly appointed Vice Chair, Ms. Korir, thanked members for their confidence in her leadership, emphasizing the importance of collective effort in steering the industry in the right direction. “We shall be collaborating and working together. I always talk about collective wisdom… so when I will be reaching out, feel free to support,” she said.

KBA acting Chief Executive Officer Raimond Molenje encouraged member banks to continue enhancing the industry’s contribution to the economy. “The industry contributed KES 181 billion to the economy in 2023. This is something we should be proud of because when the industry performs well, it creates jobs while also promoting overall socio-economic growth,” Mr. Molenje said.

As the umbrella body for all commercial banks in Kenya regulated by the Central Bank of Kenya, KBA’s membership includes 46 banks. The association’s main role is to influence the policy environment to foster economic growth by enhancing the capacities of financial institutions and promoting financial inclusion by strenghtening growth across all sectors of the economy.

KBA Governing Council for the 2024/2025 period:

The KBA Governing Council is nominated to represent three categories – Large, Medium-sized, and Small-sized banks, as defined by the KBA articles of association. The incoming Council members are as follows:

  1. NCBA Bank, Group Managing Director, John Gachora (Chairman)
  2. Credit Bank, Chief Executive Officer, Betty Korir (Vice Chair)
  3. Co-operative Bank of Kenya, Group Managing Director & CEO, Dr. Gideon Muriuki
  4. Standard Chartered Bank, Managing Director & CEO, Kariuki Ngari
  5. Equity Bank Kenya, Managing Director, Gerald Warui
  6. Diamond Trust Bank, Group CEO, Nasim Devji
  7. KCB Bank, Group CEO, Paul Russo
  8. Absa Bank, Managing Director, Abdi Mohamed
  9. Caritas Microfinance Bank, Chief Executive Officer, David Mukaru
  10. Citibank, East Africa Chief Executive Officer, Martin Mugambi
  11. SBM Bank, Chief Executive Officer, Bhartesh Shah
  12. Ecobank Kenya, Managing Director, Josephine Anan-Ankomah
  13. DIB Bank Kenya, Ag. Chief Executive Officer, Mary Kanuku
  14. Middle East Bank, Managing Director, Isaac Mwige
  15. Gulf African Bank, Chief Executive Officer, Anuj Mediratta
  16. Stanbic Bank, Chief Executive Officer, Joshua Oigara
  17. I&M Bank, Chief Executive Officer, Gul Khan  

For more information, visit (

Media Contact:
Christine Onyango
Director, Communication and Public Affairs